Monsters of the Shattered World #1 – The Sea Devils

image

Brent Newhall has launched a new podcast called Monsters of the Shattered World.  It’s an episodic endeavor in the style of an old time radio show. The first episode, The Sea Devils, chronicles the findings of a  scholar who is travelling abroad in the company of a band of hired adventurers cataloguing species of monsters. The narrative is presented in a ‘journal entry’ style and the story is supported by music and sound effects.

I love listening to old sci fi radio broadcasts and this project does a fantastic job of capturing that vibe in a fantasy setting. Right now episodes are slated for monthly release but if they get enough interest they may increase that to every two weeks (which I hope happens).

Follow the link and have a listen. It’s a fun show and a fantastic idea!

*I took the artwork for this post from the Monsters of the Shattered World page at Troll in the Corner. The awesome image was created by Khairul Hisham for the show. I am presenting it here without permission to promote the show. If this is a problem please let me know!

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “Monsters of the Shattered World #1 – The Sea Devils”

  1. Brent P. Newhall says :

    Hey, thanks very much for the link and the kind words! I’m very happy to see that people enjoy it so far. Quinn Conklin does an amazing job of adding the effects and music.

    I’m very open to feedback on the show, too.

    • SoS Michael says :

      The sound effects and music are great.

      I’ve been listening to old episodes of X Minus One lately and I was just thinking the other day that it would be cool if someone was doing a radio show style podcast.

      I love the monster manual travelogue idea.

      Great job. I’m looking forward to the next episode!

    • dmw1011 says :

      Hey, Brent!

      Sorry to be a little late with my own feedback, but I’ve got to say that after downloading all five episodes of your first season of Monsters of the Shattered World, I am quite impressed with the story as it has evolved so far. I’ve even left you positive feedback on RPG.DriveThruStuff.com not too long ago, which I hope encourages both you to carry on with the series as well as fellow customers at DriveThruRPG to check your podcast out. In short, to you and everyone else involved with the project, keep up the good work, and thank you for providing those of us who love a worthwhile fantasy story with just that: a worthwhile fantasy story.

      Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

